How it is established

The Central Electoral Commission is a state body established in order to implement the electoral policy and to organize and conduct elections.

The Central Electoral Commission consists of 9 members: 1 member is nominated by the President of Republic of Moldova, the rest of the 8 members by the Parliament, ensuring the proportional representation of the Parliamentary majority and of the Parliamentary opposition. The composition of the Commission is made by a Parliamentary Decision supported by the majority voting of the elected MPs.